What are NGSS Standards?

damselfly blue

The Next Generation Science Standards  were developed in partnership with the National Research Council (NRC), the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Achieve. So far, 44 states have adopted NGSS or a related standards curriculum. 

NGSS shifts the focus from memorizing scientific facts to actually doing science—so students spend more time posing questions and discovering the answers for themselves.

Often, students can answer specific questions about concepts they covered in class, but can’t translate that knowledge in applied situations. The standards avoid this disconnect by combining knowledge with practice, teaching students to develop ideas and evaluate them according to scientific principles.

The Next Generation Science Standards integrate three dimensions of scientific thinking:

  1. The content of science (Disciplinary Core Ideas)
  2. How science knowledge is acquired and understood (Science and Engineering Practices)
  3. How sciences are connected through concepts that have universal meaning across the disciplines (Crosscutting Concepts)

How are Standards evaluated in the Lesson Hive?

We indicate that lessons are NGSS Aligned when specific State or NGSS Standards are present and specifically stated in the resource. However, because so many states have their own independent systems of classification, we don’t evaluate alignment.

We categorize resources into several groups, and then collect information about basic attributes — Grade Level, Language, Type of Activity, and Science and Engineering Practices, among others.

Learn More: